7W0A3381

REVIEWS

These are all genuine reviews from our guests, we just thought you should know their opinion…

This restaurant is a traditional English style eating house at it’s best. The food, the service and the ambience is all one can wish for. You can easily take your girl friend, mother, grandmother or wife’s mother without being criticised. Bon appetit. Reviewed by OpenTable Diner (London) on 16 June 2017 – OpenTable

A lovely place for dinner. Food is simple and delicious, in warm, old-style atmosphere, friendly. professional and courteous service – a wonderful place where we will visit again when we are back in London. Reviewed by Bingmeister (London) on 14 June 2017 – OpenTable

“Trooping the Colour” It’s been a while since I was a member of a Club in St James’s but when I was I frequently ate at Rowley’s. I hoped for a table for 7 and we lunched on their signature dish chicken supreme and chips. Just what was needed after the Review of the Queen’s Birthday Parade. Great service. Great atmosphere. Great British values. Reviewed by AndyTomkinson on 11 Jun 2017 – Trip Advisor

“Nice food, friendly staff” We were seated quickly and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The unlimited fries were very nice, especially when they came out nice and hot. All in all it was a nice experience with tasty food and friendly attentive staff Reviewed by Sharpypaul on 2 Jun 2017 – Trip Advisor

Very enjoyable lunch well priced wine and very good food. Reviewed by Diner (London) on 25 May 2017 – OpenTable

Great as usual. Reviewed by Diner (London) on 23 May 2017 – OpenTable

The feel was wonderful. It was a truly authentic English resturant. The signature steak with the signature butter sauce…wow. Dip your steak in the browning butter sauce in the hot skillet! Reviewed by Celebrate (Las Vegas) on 21 May 2017 – OpenTable

Another trip to Rowleys and again it delivered. Steak always delicious. Look forward to next booking. Reviewed by Gavin (Dorset) on 19 May 2017 – OpenTable

“As good at lunchtime as it is in the evening” My wife and I have eaten here several times in the evening when in town and it has always been excellent. The other week I was in London and met up with my son so we popped in to see if we could have a table for lunch. We had their burger and endless fries. It was as good as their steaks are at night. Excellent service really good food. We will be back. Reviewed by pedlar_8 on 19 May 2017 – Trip Advisor

“Lovely meal” Best meal I’ve had for ages. We ordered the pate to start followed by the Chateaubriand + spinach and endless chips. Absolutely delicious. The staff are lovely, very welcoming and great service. The meat melted in the mouth and I can’t wait for our next visit. Definitely at the top of the list when we are next in London. Reviewed by Leigh H on 16 May 2017 – Trip Advisor

“Used to dream about eating here when I was a student” I finally went to Rowley’s. It was to have a steak for lunch with a friend and that’s what we did. The aged beef was moist, tasty and tender, and was done just as we asked. It came in a pan which was then placed on the burner. I like mine rare, so took mine off more or less shortly after, while my companion enjoyed watching the Roquefort butter sizzle around his meat until we put the lid on the burner. The fries are continental staple skinny one, and the homemade mayonnaise (I think) was thick and good! I would happily go back for lunch again. Reviewed by Weekdaysweekends on 7 May 2017 – Trip Advisor

“Lunch with style” Chateaubriand for two, comes with one side to share and unlimited fries. Both serving staff were well trained, polite, and professionally friendly. Attentive but not over fussing or making us feel rushed, most wines were available as a Caraf, perfect for an early lunch. Traditionally decorated with traditional service style. Reviewed by Zenabelton on 6 May 2017 – Trip Advisor

I’ve been a Rowleys fan since 1977 and it is still a favourite. Excellent steak, cooked on the table with Rowleys butter. Wonderful decor. Helpful and unobtrusive staff. Two minutes walk from Piccadilly. What is not to like and keep returning to? Reviewed by Diner (Hertfordshire) on 5 May 2017 – OpenTable

“Always first class” We use this restaurant most times we go to London and it never fails to deliver quality food with a quality atmosphere, if you want loud music and a raucous atmosphere while eating then don’t use Rowley’s, this is a class place with a lovely calm ambience fantastic staff and quality food, you are made to feel really welcome as soon as you walk in, they specialise in steaks but also do fish and other dishes, the menu is not large but large enough to have a good choice. Reviewed by Bozakev on 1 May 2017 – Trip Advisor

“Back to its Brilliant Best” The steak is fantastic, the chips too good. The staff are amongst the best in London, and the surroundings, unbeatable. Reviewed by Disinterested on 1 May 2017 – Trip Advisor

“Very good” The burger I ate there is wonderful, I know for sure when I come back to London where I am going to eat! There is not much on the menu but everything is great. Went there with the family and everyone was very pleased with their choice. Reviewed by Ninaivanovic1997 on 30 April 2017 – Trip Advisor

Rowley’s is the perfect restaurant for business lunches or dinners, a catch up with friends or even just to have dinner or lunch on your own. Reviewed by Diner (Yorkshire) on 25 April 2017 – OpenTable

My wife and I ate here as part of our 30th anniversary celebration weekend.
It was not until I mentioned our visit to my mother that we found out that Rowley’s
was my late father’s favourite dining place when work took him to London. And now it is ours. Fantastic meal and to top it off we discovered our favourite claret hidden on the wine list (you know the kind you get given and only serve on special occasions and to special friends).
Don’t worry we will be back very soon. Reviewed by Diner (London) on 21 April 2017 – OpenTable

Service was very efficient. Pleasant waiting staff. The steak special served in a dish over a Burner is a nice touch, especially if you sharing. Steak was delicious, the burner was useful here to warm pieces of meat through. Fries are beautiful. Nice informal atmosphere. We would return. Reviewed by LeeMo on 19 April 2017 – OpenTable

As ever excellent food, service and value! recommended to friends. Reviewed by SUSANJ on 19 April 2017 – OpenTable

“Excellent steak – as always” We had an early evening meal as we were going to the theatre (Stepping Out). The steaks were excellent as always and served in plenty of time for our ‘stroll up the Strand’ to the theatre.  Reviewed by Colin S 13th April 2017 – Trip Advisor-

“Late supper” Was in here after 8.45 which is late for me. Went straight for their signature steak with sauce. When I heard that it was sirloin I asked for it to be cooked with the fat and then served lean.
Had excellent bread and butter to start but steak came so promptly I could have skipped this as left most.
Steak came as requested with tasty sauce and good pommes frites which were offered fresh half way though.
Had a couple of scoops of excellent Union ice cream to finish.
Excellent meal served in less than half an hour with good service. Much better than higher priced steak restaurants nearby. Reviewed by ChrisHuntingdon 12th April 2017 – Trip Advisor-

“Lovely meal” Visited with my wife last weekend for the second time, and was not disappointed. I had the entrecote steak and my wife had the t bone. Both were cooked to perfection (medium rare) and the side dish of cauliflower cheese was outstanding.
I can’t understand the snobby attitude of some of here about the unlimited fries, if you don’t want them order mash or boiled potatoes??
Our waiter was friendly and not pushy, and our shares pear tarte tatin underlined the fact that we would return on our next trip to London in December for Hamilton. Reviewed by Blaconblue -10th April 2017 – Trip Advisor

Rowley’s is the perfect restaurant for business lunches or dinners, a catch up with friends or even just to have dinner or lunch on your own. Reviewed by Diner (Yorkshire) on 25 April 2017 – OpenTable

“Evening meal” AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING!!!! The service was perfect, the food was prefect… so pleased we went. We had the Chateaubriand for two.. it was the best steak i ever had!!! Reviewed by Kseastway 31st March 2017 – Trip Advisor

“A lovely restaurant, good food, fab service.” We ate here on a group on deal and it was fab, a lovely piece of steak, unlimited fries and a side. Great food, good quality and portion size, the drinks menu was very good. The staff were friendly and attentive. The restaurant is lovely and quaint, a good atmosphere. We would definitely try again. Reviewed by mey27 - 27th March 2017 – Trip Advisor

“Recommended by friend.” We were actually at an apartment across the street. Our friends recommended this restaurant and we were delighted. My friend had the steak and I had the chicken. They both were so tender, you could cut them with fork. I did t order the steak because I was afraid the portions may be large. They weren’t, but I was happy with the size. Again, the taste and tenderness were delicious. Fries were good and if you wanted a lot, they were endless. We shared the toffe pudding and thought we were in heaven. Wine selection was good. Also, your meat is served in fry pans and the smell is the best. Ambience and service very good. Can’t wait to go back, next time I’m in London. Reviewed by FrancesDecatur 20th March 2017 – Trip Advisor 

A quick note to express my satisfaction with my three dining events at Rowley’s during my recent two weeks in London (25 Feb-12 Mar).
I have been visiting Rowley’s since 1985 and the great draw is that nothing has changed, except the prices, of course.  I always make a point of having dinner once per trip and I am never disappointed.
A special thanks to Monica and Giada for taking care of my dining needs.

Don’t ever change!

John D. Robinson
Major (Ret)
RCAF

“Tailor-made for a swish meal in London’s Jermyn Street.” Seven cricket legends had a re-union luncheon party. It’s ideal for well-heeled punters visiting the many top-class clothes outfitters in the same street. It is not cheap but the standard of starters – especially smoked salmon and whitebait – and the trademark rib-eye steak with endless frittes turned it into a memorable occasion. The service was very attentive and if the great umpire in the sky does not give us out, we’ll be back. Reviewed by Claude D – 12th March 2017 – Trip Advisor

“Excellent food and service” A few friends visited Rowley’s for lunch and were well looked after.
We ordered Chateaubriand with Whitebait to start which was all excellent. They also serve unlimited chips if you can eat them.
The wine we ordered was good too.
This restaurant is not cheap but is very clean, the food is very good and the service we received from Monika was excellent.
We will certainly visit againReviewed by Ravenhouse 5th March 2017 – Trip Advisor

“Great Steak” Lovely chateaubriand, friendly and efficient service. Unlimited fries were fresh and hot. Well done! -Reviewed by Spidlet11 26th February 2017 – Trip Advisor

“Dinner with Friends” This is my second visit and again brilliant. Monika (Monica) was our waitress and even though one of my friends was a pian with regards where he wanted to sit, she was smiling and friendly. Our steaks were spot on. All the staff we encountered were professional. Highly recommend - Reviewed by Tonylist 24th February 2017 – Trip Advisor

“A tradition” Rowley’s is one of the traditional London restaurants. It should be visited by locals and tourists alike. The steak and chips are an imperative. The steak is brought to your table and keeps warm on a heater at your table. The chips are endless – you can have as many helpings as you like. The staff are charming although it took a bit of time to get the bill. Having said that one can easily pop in for lunch and not overrun a lunch hour. Reviewed by Ian G. 19th February 2017 – Trip Advisor - 

“Birthday dinner” My brother lives in London, so my sister and I flew over to celebrate his birthday with him in mid Dec 2016. Absolutely loved this restaurant. i believe it has been going for a great number of years. So polished (staff were entertaining whilst doing a top notch job) professional and great food – even the chips were great. Reviewed by wainsfortmanor – 5th February 2017 – Trip Advisor

 “Stumbled across Rowley’s – glad we did!” We had a booking at The Avenue for Sunday lunch pre theatre. Menu was only brunch style so in a slight panic headed out in search of other options around Piccadilly. Spotted Rowley’s very simple tiled interiors and menu looked good. Greeted immediately on arrival and seated at a nice table. Menu is simple but sufficient for all. Gorgeous chicken… Reviewed by langshott02 -3rd February 2017 – Trip Advisor

 “A return to old favorite.” We dined at Rowleys some years ago and was curious to see what it was like now. It’s still a great place to eat. We had the Chateaubriand, it was very good and cooked to perfection. From memory we thought it only served steaks, but it now provides a good selection including chicken and fish, but still with unlimited fries..!…. Reviewed by David F -1st February 2017 – Trip Advisor - 

“Bit of a classic!” One of London’s older restaurants that is still doing a very decent job! The steak with unlimited chips is a real treat. The service is excellent and very friendly and the atmosphere is traditional without being old fashioned, if that makes sense? Had a very enjoyable meal which didn’t break the bank, which is good news, considering where it is located. Reviewed by Robin P Surrey 2nd January 2017 – Trip Advisor -

“Family day-out” Family of four having lunch before our annual festive trip to the theatre. Rowley’s didn’t disappoint. Cocktails to start then starters including Whitebait, fish cake, smoked salmon and goats cheese and beetroot. We all had steaks for mains which included unlimited fries and washed down with a carafe of wine (the carafe was actually a functional glass jug). Steaks were great. Puddings followed with the Chocolate Bomb being very impressive (but avoid if you do not like coffee). Service was relaxed yet efficient. A really enjoyable visit. Reviewed by Chris L 29th December 2016Trip Advisor -

“Absolutely fantastic!” Went here for a family meal a few weeks ago and totally blown away by the quality of the steak!
The chips are absolutely fantastic and staff are friendly and very welcoming.
Will definitely recommend this place to all friends and family! And will certainly be returning. Reviewed by ana s December 2016 – Trip Advisor –

“A great place” We ate on a Sunday evening which meant that the restaurant was pretty quiet. I enjoyed the food, which was pretty straight forward but well prepared. Reviewed by Peterl1234 Croydon – 11th December 2016 – Trip Advisor

First time at Rowley’s, won’t be the last. Heirloom tomato salad really good, as was the bleu cheese salad. Both had the signature entrecote, cooked (fried) at the table. Two very good pieces of beef. Followed by excellent sticky toffee pudding. Who knew dates could taste so good? Reviewed by VIP Mystere 3rd December 2016 – Open Table

“Great steak lunch and service” Really busy and popular so recommend you book in advance to get a table. Very efficient service where most people like us had house steak and chips with a lovely bottle of red wine. Refill chips on plate where required. Not cheap but enjoyed the experience. Reviewed 27th November 2016 by Woodstag London – Trip 

“A little bit of Monika in our lives (as goes the song…!)” We are quite regular visitors to Rowley’s now… mostly because of the delicious Chateaubriand and the truly lovely Monika!! As goes the song: “A little bit of Monika in my life” – that’s what we all need! – lovely lady, great sense of humour and a truly kind person, who looks after us “old ‘uns” magnificently. We have a wonderful time at Rowley’s… Lovely food, friendly, funny staff, what’s not to like…?? We will continue to visit this atmospheric, happy restaurant for as long as we can! Highly recommend. Reviewed 26th November 2016 by EtoileSanderstead Croydon – Trip Advisor

“Great food and service” My family knows this restaurant well from many years ago, and not all that much has changed… the service is very good and food is delicious with decent sized portions. Missing the classical music that used to play and give it some ambience. It was a little strange sitting in silence. Most of us ordered the rump of lamb. It took a good while to come out… and we were almost late for our show. One of the meals was cold so we sent it back. We ordered catch of the day too which was beautiful sea bream. All in all I would definitely go back. - Reviewed by Jentia London 17th November 2016 – Trip Advisor

“Quiet, delicious traditional fare” A group of us reserved a table for dinner on a Tuesday night. We were catching up, and had soup to nuts meal. We had salads, huge entrees and of course dessert. The chicken and lamb were excellent, the beef perfectly prepared. The sticky toffee pudding was perfect, and has become hard to find elsewhere. The staff was attentive and friendly. A good time was had by all. Well worth the time and money. – Reviewed by Anne T Palm Coast, Florida, USA 16th November 2016 – Trip Advisor

“Lovely restaurant & food.” Taken here for a treat.  Very pleasant and welcoming staff. Who were very attentive despite using a voucher. Nice and cozy looking restaurant too.
Arrived at 7pm and was quite quiet. But was almost fully booked a little over an hour later on leaving. Probably best to book in advance as I don’t think many wandered in of the street.
Food was delicious, perfectly cooked Chateaubriand. Definitely come back just for the food! Reviewed by James B 4th November 2016 – Trip Advisor - 

I hadn’t been to Rowley’s for about 30 years  but it was just as good as I remembered it. I went there for a birthday treat before the theatre. The service was excellent and so was the food. Neither of my companions had been there before and both said that they would definitely go back Reviewed Open Table – 1st November  2016 – 

“Good value and Reliable” Almost no need for a menu. Steak or chicken and frites de rigeur. Great service and the best spicy tomato juice in London. Reviewed by nalbert – 23rd October 2016 – Trip Advisor

“Great place for a steak” This restaurant, located just off Piccadilly, is a great place if you want good food in central London. Quick and efficient service, and delicious food. You can keep the meat warm on the burner they place on the table, meaning you can order the steak less cooked than you like it and brown it just before eating it. Reviewed by CasR476 Ghent, Belgi  – 20th  October 2016 – Trip Advisor

“Excellent steak house” One of the best places to go if you are a steak aficionado. Superb steak choice and unlimited fries for a small supplement. In addition there is a superb choice of wine available at fairly reasonable prices – after all this is London! Be prepared to drop £100 or so for a decent meal for two with some nice wine. Reviewed 5th October 2016 by Tigger2930 London – Trip Advisor -

“Still great after all these years!!” I have used this place many times over the years and still love the simplicity at Lunch, when you just order the steak how you like it and wham, its there in no time….. cooked to perfection with the best fries in town!! Reviewed by Roger G- Windlesham- 29th September 2016 – Trip Advisor-

“What a treat…………….” Saturday lunch… And Rowley’s was suggested by a friend. What a nice place!! With the stability of an institution and the shyness of a novice. What a balance! Food was simple, honest and delicious…. How much french fries can two middle aged people consume? Not measurable. The roast and the entrecote were exceptional, service impeccable and overall there is a nostalgic, romantic feeling that can turn a Saturday lunch to a memory. Thank you. Reviewed by Little Summers Athens, Greece -27th September 2016 – Trip Advisor-

“Love this place! We’ve been here twice for the chateaubriand and both times it has been fantastic. Perfectly cooked, with unlimited chips! A nice selection of wine and I really like the atmosphere. The restaurant has some lovely original Victoriana details, making you feel like you’re in a Parisian bistro. The place was buzzing and we sat at the back near the cute Victorian spiral staircase. The first time we went it was a bit quiet, which left us both surprised because the food was so good and the staff are attentive but not obtrusive. Overall great place to go in London and it’s been there a long time so it’s always good to support places like this in the ever growing world of boring chain restaurants. Reviewed by natalie1112015 – 20th September 2016- Trip Advisor

 “Friday night treat” The white bait starter was lightly battered with a creamy mayonnaise. Scrumptious. Our entrecôte steaks which were aged were perfectly cooked medium rare and kept warm on the table over a fire. The 2014 Syrah-Cinsault Kraal Bay complemented the steaks. The staff (Hungarian lady and Romanian gentleman) were very attentive and there was unlimited chips! The green beans were cooked to perfection French style. Compliments to the chef on duty. Reviewed by Karin H – 16th September 2016 – Trip Advisor

“Good fish and chips” We chose this restaurant as it was near to our hotel and we wanted to eat fish and chips. The staff were very pleasant and the fish & unlimited chips perfect! Their Eton Mess is to die for! Reviewed by RosyPosyEnglish living in France – 20th September 2016 – Trip Advisor

“Great steak (and they really do mean unlimited chips!)” We had dinner there our last night in London. We wanted something nice, but not stuffy. Just up the street from our hotel (Cavendish) and down the street from Piccadilly Circus), Rowley’s fit the bill. We shared the buffalo mozzarella salad – it’s a good size to share. The filet was excellent, as were the fish and chips. And chips were something else… in the best possible way! They brought out a huge pan of them and split them between the two of us. And then came back later to see if we wanted any more, and we were still working through the first batch! We finished up with sticky toffee pudding, which was also excellent. I think it was a little more than ₤120 and that included a pretty nice bottle of wine, which doesn’t seem unreasonable. It was a very relaxing, enjoyable meal, with staff that was attentive but not intrusive. I’d highly recommend. Reviewed by Time2Travel10 Minneapolis, Minnesota 31st August 2016 – Trip Advisor 

“Brilliant traditional English lunch”  Rowley’s set the bar for many other restaurants to reach. Classic food in traditional surroundings, served by competent staff. From time to time there are offers on the web which make the prices more affordable, Go and enjoy. Reviewed by enniegSussex 19th August 2016 – Trip Advisor

 “Best Steak House in London” I recently visited Rowley’s and had, by far, the best steak I have ever had outside North and Central America. Plenty of chips (fries) are included in the meal and we left quite full. The staff are friendly and the restaurant is in a superb location. Reviewed by Richard-S1734 18th August 2016 – Trip Advisor

“An absolutely fantastic meal at Rowley’s with excellent service”- The steak was divine and unlimited fries awesome. We will be back - Reviewed by danm1977 6th August 2016 – Open Table-

“Good service and the steak extremely well cooked”- I would recommend this highly as a consistently good steak restaurant. Wonderful tiled walls if you are interested the interior. - Reviewed by PaulieLondon- 3rd August 2016 – Open Table-

“Probably the best steak in London.” We have visited this lovely establishment several times before, either as can couple or with friends. It is in such a good location, off Piccadilly, ideal if you’ve visited the Royal Academy or for a pre theatre meal. This time we had bought prepaid vouchers for the Chateaubriand and we were not disappointed. The meat was delicious, so tender, almost melt in the mouth and charred to the right degree on the outside. The steak is served in a pan on a burner on the table, so it is kept warm and comes with a flavored butter, salad and unlimited fries. The service is always excellent, with charming attentive staff. If you love steak this is the place to eat it! Reviewed by Yorks1972 – 31st July 2016 – Trip Advisor

“Delicious” Steak and fries par excellence! Been visiting for 20+ years and whilst the place doesn’t change, neither does the quality of the food served – always perfect Reviewed by Huddersfield 30th July 2016 – Trip Advisor

“Excellent food in an Edwardian setting”-Walking along Jermyn Street in Mayfair after a long day of meetings, I came across this gem. Friendly and efficient staff, and a brief but familiar menu, made this a great place to eat solo on my way back to my hotel. The Catch of the Day was superb (Sea Bream), pan fried with olive oil and lemon. The broccoli was al dente, and sauté potatoes wonderful. Portion size was perfect.
Price wise I think this was good value for the quality of the food. Reviewed by Perth, Western Australia – 6th July 2016 – Trip Advisor -

“Steak at it’s best” A table in the window, a bottle of Red and the best Steak in town, with the added bonus of as many French fries as you can eat. A perfect way to end a busy day in the company of friends or relaxed business colleagues. Reviewed by Anthony B 1st July 2016 – Trip Advisor -

When I lived in London I used to come to When I lived in London I used to come to Rowley’s often and always loved it. Last week was my first visit for 12 years and it is just as good as I remember. The steak was delicious and tender, the roquefort sauce yummy and the french fries just right. The staff were all cheerful, polite and attentive without being overbearing. The ambience is lovely with the art deco tiling. It can be a little noisy because of all the hard surfaces, but don’t let that put you off. I look forward to dining there again the next time I’m in LondonReviewed 30th June 2016 – Open Table - 

“Outstanding Chateaubriand.”  Rowley’s know their steak. So no surprises in this traditional restaurant in Jermyn Street. Expect calm service, lots of regulars and a satisfied belly when you leave. Reviewed by roberty87 22nd June 2016 – Trip Advisor -

“Delicious” Gorgeous food and lively, friendly atmosphere. We used a Groupon voucher but will happily visit this restaurant again without. A fabulous place with no pretentions. Reviewed by FranP676 – 6th June 2016 – Trip Advisor

“Never fails to delight…” We regularly come to Rowley’s for top class chateaubriand, unlimited fries and the friendliest and most unobtrusively attentive staff in London – all lovely girls, especially the wonderful Monika. If you like your beef, look no further – this is the place for you! Delicious whitebait to start and crème brulee or eton mess to finish. Superb! – Reviewed by EtoileSanderstead – 4th June 2016 – Trip Advisor

“No gimmicks, just good nose bag and jolly good wine”-Kept walking past, for years on my travels up and down the street, couple of years ago taken to lunch there on business, have been regularly now. Always good, quality is always on the money, wine selection very good. Check out the history on the website, Walls started here, give it a go, don’t walk past, it’s a little gem. Reviewed by Paul H 17th May 2016 – Trip Advisor

Simply lovely Steak -excellent (rib eye and fillet), endless chips, amazing house red from Berry Bros – nice servers and excellent value – and it’s in Jermyn Street, what could be better – will be back. Reviewed by GLizz 14th May 2016 – Open Table -

Highly Recommended -Historic and dignified. Good food well served. Excellent Malbec. Reviewed 12th May 2016 – Open Table -

“A little gem in Jermyn Street”-I used to eat here fairly regularly a number of years ago when I worked in the area but haven’t been back for a while and I’m glad I did. It was a mixed bunch (unlike the suited business crowd you get at lunchtimes), families, friends and couples. Dinner last night for me was a gorgeous lobster and crabmeat fishcake with unlimited fries and a heritage tomato salad, husband had the fillet steak – all cooked beautifully. Excellent service, very friendly and helpful. We didn’t have room for pudding. The house white wine was good and the Negroni to start even better. Reviewed by j0annag42  – 1st May – Trip Advisor –

Lunch at Rowleys -Booked for lunch at apx 1.00pm on 28th April. Truly excellent rib-eye steaks kept warm on a table burner; one of the best steaks that I have eaten in years. Attentive service with helpful menu suggestions. House red very good. A very enjoyable dining experience in a clean and interesting restaurant and happy to recommend. Will definitely return. Reviewed by Reviewer1 – 28th  April 2016 – Open Table -

“Well priced steak and frites!” – Rowley’s famous special, Entrecote and unlimited fries, can’t beat it for price, quality and service accompanied by the house red just a perfect set up for a theatre night. They have been in business for 40 years a tradition continues to thrive…Reviewed by AdbFM – 25th April 2016 – Trip Advisor

Great menu, location and decor. Good deals” – Best steak and way it was served. Attentive, obliging, staff – nothing was too much trouble. Liked the no music policy – were able to talk without saying ‘pardon’ continually. Rowleys will definitely be on our top 5 eateries when visiting London! Reviewed by AdbFM – 24th April 2016 – Open Table

“Anniversary Dinner” -Whilst in London we visited Rowley’s on Saturday evening for Chateubriand. We both had a starter of capaccio beef and parfait duck pate.
The ambiance of the restaurant was superb. When we asked for a window table, this was no problem.
The main meal is designed for 2 and comes with unlimited fries.
An absolute delicious experience & would love to return here again sometime. Reviewed by Aprildubai07– 10th April 2016 – Trip Advisor

“Consistency good quality”-We’ve been going to Rowley’s for years. Our favourite is the house special ‘Steak Frites’ with unlimited Frites. Works really well as a pre theatre restaurant as the food generally comes pretty quickly. Staff always very attentive and the food always excellent. - Reviewed by Alison C – 8th April 2016 – Trip Advisor

Excellent Steaks – You go the Rowley’s for traditional dishes and steak. We had the aged sirloin steak which was excellent with sides of spinach and French peas. Desserts were excellent as well. Reviewed by JohnM 2nd April 2016 – Open Table

“ROWLEY’S HAS THE “WOW” FACTOR!!!”-My wife and I had lunch here yesterday before going to the theatre.
We were greeted by Monica the Manager, who always has a lovely smile and loads of personality!
She seated us and handed over the menus and wine list. She then passed us over to Lidia who very politely took our drinks order.
I started with the fresh crab and prawn cocktail and my wife had the baby gem salad.
I can report that the starters were first class!
We washed these down with a glass of Pinot Grigio.
For our main courses we had the Entrecote steak, me rare and my wife medium rare.
Both were cooked to perfection with, of course, unlimited fries!!!
For desert my wife had ice cream sorbet and I had the chocolate mousse which I have to say, was to die for!!!!
As I said earlier, Monica is the manager here and under her the place runs so smoothly! She has such a lovely personality and I hope the owners, whoever they are, fully appreciate their diamond girl!!!
Well done to Monica and Lidia for making Tina and me feel so appreciated! - Reviewed by terryrothery Billericay, Essex 1st April 2016 – Trip Advisor 

“50th Birthday in lovely British restaurant” Very nice lunch for the 50th birthday of our friend Cristina. High quality steak and chips. Very good sweets. Really good British restaurant near Fortnun & Mason ! Congratulations! Reviewed by Barbara L 27th March 2016 – Trip Advisor – 

“The food was great and the staff professional and superb” I could not fault the welcome, the attentive friendly service was very professional but was also not intrusive. We were two couples who meet up two or three times a year for lunch for a good old chinwag and hopefully a good meal. We managed to pick up a great deal for this restaurant, which turned out to be a great success. The deal was for a Chateaubriand for two people to share served with unlimited fries each and a side to share (choice of vegetables or salad) The food was delicious, beautifully cooked to our individual requirement and although we got a good deal we would have been happy to have it at full price of £70. As we dinned on a Monday 7th March 2016 we were also given a complimentary glass of wine each, but noticed they also have a good reasonably priced wine list for a centrally sited London restaurant. The sweet menu is a little limited but the two ladies enjoyed the sticky toffee pudding. We all enjoyed our experience at this good old fashioned Restaurant – Reviewed by Subnariner Woodford – 8th March 2016 – Trip Advisor.

Rowley’s Restaurant  -Steak and (Unlimited) Fries in St James’s

Rowley’s is a real British treasure, steeped in local history, with a pleasant buzz about the place at lunchtime, a popular choice, it seems, for local office workers. I think I’ll tie in my next visit with a trip to the theatre to sample this haven for carnivores at night.- Reviewed by The Bon Vivant Journal  -

“Regular” Used this place since 2006. Great little place. Never needed to ask for second helpings of fries… It has a clean feel, probably due to the tiled walls; I think it used to be a butcher shop. Staff are attentive as one would expect in Jermyn St –Trip Advisor – Rewired 5th February 2016 - 

“One of my London favorites!” Every time I´m visiting London, I try to have lunch or dinner at Rowley´s in Jermyn Street. Why? Because of the french brasserie like interior and atmosphere, the good food and the nice and professional staff. This time I had for starter a fishcake, based on salmon and lobster. Absolutely delicious! My main course was the chicken with roquefort-butter sauce. The was nothing wrong with the chicken. It was perfect! But, the roquefort sauce was so strong that it very efficiently killed all other tastes! Even the very good fries lost it´s flavor! Still, I know they can do better, and I am looking forward to my next visit! – Reviewed by BPUlvaer Oslo, Norway – Trip Advisor – 4th February 2016

What: Old school steak restaurant with amazing tiled decor

Why: If you’re going to eat a fine steak, you should at least make sure you do it  somewhere nice. Somewhere like Rowley’s. You couldn’t ask for a more beautiful dining room in which to enjoy your steak. And thankfully, the food  matches up to the setting. Rowley’s has been around for decades, serving up succulent cuts of steak and limitless crispy fries to grateful regulars in the  heart of London. A real gem. The Handbook -  26th January 2016

Zagat rated - A mix of “well-heeled” locals, “business associates” and “tourists” fill this “clubby” Piccadilly dining room exhibiting “old London flair” to match its “consistent”, “hearty” Traditional British menu that majors on “melt-in-the-mouth” steaks with “unlimited chips”, accompanied by “pleasant service”; some feel it’s “reasonably priced” while others deem it “expensive”, but most concede it’s “worth every penny”, especially for a special occasion like “a birthday treat”.

“Special luncheon with nearest and dearest Surprise lunch during a visit to London which was arranged by my wife, certainly an excellent choice of restaurant. We both selected a steak, house red and sides. The staff gave guidance on the style of cooking, which was really worth following, as the food was perfect! It’s a little expensive for lunch, but pay your money, it’s worth it! Reviewed by 7005 Rutland – 12th January 2016 – Trip Advisor

One of London’s hidden gems _It’s been a while since I’ve came across a restaurant like Rowley’s. I eat out a lot, and it was refreshing to see somewhere friendly, inviting and clean around Piccadilly. The staff were welcoming and prompt with their service. The food was incredible, cooked to perfection and offered some brilliant meals. Myself and my partner never lifted a finger except to put their delicious steak to our lips, our glasses were filled when running low, and we were restocked with fries when we ran out. This is a beautiful little place, perfect for romance and pre-theatre dinners. Reviewed by PaulyC – 2nd  January 2016 – Open Table

Reminder email. On arrival good welcome….Reminder email. On arrival good welcome. Manager attended immediately to friend’s pre-warned dietary requirements. Food and wine exceptional and prompt. Several staff members attended and were attentive. Good humour. Great atmosphere. Would go again if in London. Reviewed by DocBob – 31st December 2015 – Open Table

Steak and Pudding We visited early afternoon and it was very quiet on arrival but it did liven up quickly as other diners arrived changing the atmosphere for the good. The steaks were delicious and the unlimited chips kept being offered. The puddings were divine and the wine list extensive.The service was very attentive and friendly and the whole experience was very good. Prices were good for central London.It is good that the décor has retained its original style, a nice touch in these days of constant updating it is great as it is thanks. Reviewed bytravel2151-South West – December 2015 – Trip Advisor

 

“Local British Restaurant with 40 years of history and GREAT FOOD” - I have been to Rowley’s on many occasions is by far my favorite local British Restaurant. Whether for a business lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch, Rowley’s is always on top of their game.
The restaurant is relatively small but does have a certain British atmosphere that is simple yet elegant. You will always be greeted with a warm smile and sat in comfortable setting with white elegant tablecloths. Be sure to make a reservation as this place is well know among the locals.
The specialty of the house is the 28 day Matured Entrecôte Steak which is served on a sizzling platter above a flaming urn to keep the meat hot at all times. Always exquisitely prepared and has a delicious flavor that fills the air. Bottom line is this is the best steak in London. I always eat this steak slowly with a nice glass of red wine and as such extinguish the flame as leaving it on continues the cooking process. The meat is tender, juicy and full of flavor, and to compliment this further , the restaurants serves a secret herb, Roquefort butter sauce. This is fabulous. Accompanying the steak is the UNLIMITED freshly cooked, deliciously hot, crisp and golden brown french fries. I always eat way too much of these fries.
I have also tried the Herb Fed Organic Yorkshire Chicken. This meat is juicy and flavorful. Not sure of all the ingredients but the Yorkshire pudding batter they use is just awesome. Worth trying as this was a first for my taste buds.
The Sunday brunch is always nice as I enjoy the roast beef and Yorkshire pudding. Served with season vegetables. Love the presentation and its always to have food that tastes as good as it looks. Served with warm rolls that are nice balance to roast beef and potatoes. Great with a nice French red wine.
The wine list is okay. Some good French wines which I like, and a Spanish Rioja that is just perfect with red meat and very moderately priced.
I have tried several of their desserts and the Sticky Toffee Pudding with fresh cream stands out as a local favorite. The texture is deliciously soft and flavorful with hints of toffee and vanilla.
The service is outstanding although you will need to be patient as the wait time increases when they are running at or near capacity.
If you want a taste of elegant British food then here it is. Enjoy.Reviewed by Gary D – 17th December 2015 – Trip Advisor 

Love the Christmas menu - Great holiday experience with The classics- chicken, stuffing and pigs in blanket with bread sauce, with a side of brussels sprouts perfectly cooked with pancetta and chestnuts, followed by Christmas pudding with brandy butter! Reviewed by BethM – 14th December 2015 – Open Table 

“Best steak in London” Use this restaurant whenever I stay at my Club close by. What’s nice is to be recognised by the staff (which doesn’t change – always a good sign). Usually dine with my wife or other friends but this time on my own.Fantastic food and service. I asked for a table by the window and I got it. Reasonably priced for central London. Can’t rate it highly enough -Reviewed by Alain69190735 Colchester – 10th December 2015 – Trip Advisor

 

“Steak galore” Superb and friendly service. Juicy, lovely steaks; rich sauces. If you like fine fries, you may not leave! Reviewd by SRossC London –  9th December 2015 – Trip Advisor 

“A very special evening” I recently visited Rowley’s for a special occasion and opted for the taster menu with wine pairing. As each perfectly presented dish arrived at the table the knowledgeable staff talked us through each dish and the wine pairing, if you are a real foodie like me this is a real treat. The food was immaculately presented but more importantly was full of flavour and well balanced, enhanced further by the great wine pairings. We are very lucky to have this kind of fine dining available to us in Derby and I will without doubt return again, highly recommended! Reviewed by Darren H Derbyshire, United Kingdom – 4th Dec 2015 – Trip Advisor 

“Lavish food and superb service” We were in town for a literature event and wanted a nice, intimate meal together before diving into the chaos of the convention atmosphere. So this was a special treat. We had already walked past once and the menu caught my husband’s eye, so we decided to go in. We got there right at noon and had the entire place to ourselves. The staff were warm and welcoming and seemed genuinely delighted to have us there.
But the food! We had smoked partridge and venison tartare for starters, and both were exquisite. Delicately prepared and lavishly presented. For mains we both had the bouillabaisse, which was mouthwateringly delicious, followed by the apple doughnut and tonka bean panna cotta. The panna cotta had “popcorn foam”, an amazing touch.
We had initially ordered cocktails, but there was a problem with the icemaker, so they weren’t able to accommodate us. So we just ordered wine instead. It wasn’t a problem for us at all, but they still decided not to charge us for the first two glasses. Superb service with a personal touch.
We’re fans of the show HANNIBAL, and we always covet the ludicrously artistic dishes on display. Our afternoon at Rowley’s was like actually getting to eat some of them. Reviewed by October_Country Bristol – 1st December 2015 -Trip Advisor

“Mixed bag but they came out on top!!” My wife and I had booked for a leisurely lunch. We got a nice table although a little cosy once it filled up. Some accidents – tonic spilt – cleaned, replaced and made good quickly with apologies. Service was excellent and friendly – food delicious. Not cheap but you are in Jermyn St.
The chocolate bomb dessert gets 5* on its own – a must have if you’ve still got space!!!  Reviewed by Mark E Oxted, United Kingdom – 29th November 2015 – Trip Advisor - 

Outstanding- Great British restaurant. The food was outstanding and the décor of restaurant is very nice. The Entrecote steak comes with Unlimited fries. The fries are delicious. The menu has good choice and caters for all options. Service was good. Would highly recommend this establishment and I cannot wait until my next visit! A* Reviewed by NRM1978 – 27th November 2015 – Open Table

First Time at Rowley’s -My wife and I experienced Rowley’s for the first time this week when we booked for dinner on Monday evening. The restaurant was fairly busy but not noisy; we were offered a table towards the back of the room. The staff were friendly and efficient (but not intrusive) and the service prompt. We each had a starter followed by steak for our main course and chose a reasonably-priced bottle of red wine to accompany our meal. The food was excellent; the steaks were perfectly cooked and were kept piping hot on the burner in the center of our table. The only slight disappointment was that my wife a dessert but her choice, trifle, was unavailable; the last portion having been sold. We visit London two or three times per year and would certainly go to Rowley’s again; I would happily recommend it to anybody who is looking for a steak meal .- Reviewed by BobC -23rd November 2015 – Open Table

“Just terrific”-The crowning glory of a fabulous day! We saw a matinee of Farinelli and the King with Mark Rylance which was brilliant and had booked a table at Rowley’s for 7.00. We had time to pop back to our hotel for a snifter and then a cab to Rowley’s. Easily the finest chateaubriand ever! Cooked to perfection, sliced and served on a hot dish over a flaming stove. Delicious salads and enough fries to last a week! The most.glorious French Merlot ever (a bit pricey, but worth it). Service was efficient once we melted the icy welcome. A bit of an expensive tourist trap in Olde England, but we were quite happy to be tourists. Inventive puddings, perfect coffee and all in all, a wonderful evening. Well worth investigating but be prepared for quite a whacking bill! -Reviewed by Saintyvic – Wellingborough – 20th November 2015 – Trip Advisor

“Birthday lunch for a friend” -The steak was to die for, the French fries kept flowing, the Chilean Merlot was the perfect temperature and the staff could not have been more charming. All added up to somewhere I was happy to take a very dear friend for a birthday lunch. Reviwed by Beancounter – 7th November 2015 – Open Table

“Still going strong”-I have often popped into Rowley’s over the years for a steak and fries after a bit of shopping on Jermyn street. So pleased to see that it is still excellent. Steak cooked to perfection, a sticky toffee pudding worth writing home about…a well-balanced wine list with plenty to choose from that goes well for any budget and mood. Service attentive and friendly. Very pleasant experience.  Only quibble would be to have crispier fries, though I am sure they would have done so had I only asked.Reviewed by JJOnline Milan, Italy – 5th November 2015 - Trip Advisor

“Always reliable”- I have been a regular visitor to Rowley’s for many years. Their signature Bifteck-frites is quite peerless. If you are looking for an outstanding steak in a friendly and uncluttered atmosphere then Rowley’s is for you. Reviewed by Wattsies Cuxton Kent UK – 2nd November 2015 – Trip Advisor

To summarise our impressions of Rowley’s Restaurant: the training of their staff and front of house was second to none – they really could not have been more attentive. The décor is truly lovely, with the ambiance creating a buzzing steak restaurant. Using the finest of suppliers and giving the customers a competitively priced menu with the best quality ingredients is undoubtedly a recipe for their success as, incidentally, is their renown for the unlimited amount of delicious French fries served! The Riverside Journals – October 2015

“Great food and decor”- Rowley’s always has a certain “buzz” about it. The location and décor are excellent. Staff are attentive but not pushy. The entrecote steak with limitless fries is a must! I would have preferred are more comprehensive wine list, however the wine we selected was very good. Reviewed by Paul S Maidstone, United Kingdom 31st October 2015 – Trip Advisor

“Excellent simplicity” -A delightfully simple menu majoring on steaks – sauces and the endless fries are a bonus. Delicious simple little gem salad and a fair wine list Berry’s decent claret by the glass and carafe good value. Not the cheapest in town but charming service. All around good value for money. By blackwater97 Stratford – 27th October 2015 – Trip Advisor

“A Delightful Dining Experience”- After some shopping on Picadilly, my wife and I stopped in for a bite at Rowley’s. Just a block a few blocks away from Fortnum and Mason’s, we were anticipating more of a meal of convenience than anything else, but this eatery impressed us!!! After an accidental wine spill at a neighboring table, the waitstaff reacted swiftly and professionally. The top notch response by the manager was noticed and appreciated! We ordered a mushroom risotto and a steak, which was kept warm while enjoying,with a tabletop burner. The mushroom risotto was one of the most memorable dishes while we were in London. By Casey H Fort Worth US – 24th October 2015 -Trip Advisor

“Great food and service”-The steaks were great as were the chips. The puddings were also good. Best of all was the service, the staff were fantastic and did not hurry us at all. I would definitely eat here again. By SM2811 Maidenhead – 15th October 2015 – Trip Advisor

“Have to visit”-Returned to London for the weekend to celebrate a birthday. Great welcome followed by an evening sampling outstanding dining coupled with excellent service. Compact menu that covers all tastes. Excellent presentation. We will be back. By bigpuffa-djersey C.I- 14th October 2015 – Trip Advisor

“Superb!”- Took a friend here for her birthday. I booked and asked for a window table (which we got) which was quite surprising considering it was a Saturday night. It’s a beautiful setting, an old butcher shop (It’s where Mr Walls begin selling his sausages) with large mirrors set into the tiled walls. Not too dark, not too bright.
The staff were excellent. We were served by no less than three different people, all very pleasant and keen to make sure we had everything we wanted.
The food was marvellous, the steaks cooked to perfection.
The restaurant was surprisingly quiet for a Saturday night (we sat down at eight) but it was a very enjoyable evening by Jb Bayswater – 7th October 2015 – Trip Advisor 

“Great food and service ”The food is excellent and we really enjoyed our meal. It was wonderfully hot – unusual in this days and age. The pudding was old fashioned and just lovely. Good wine as well as good service. Would recommend by Flower – 6th October 2015- Open Table

“Wonderful First Class Experience” - Saturday 3/10/15 we had the Taster Menu with Wines and it was EXCELLENT!
Great food and wine but also special personal service made it so much more than a meal out it was an evening of rounded entertainment.
A very memorable occasion which I would recommend and I am very wary of recommending anything due to different personal preferences!
Thank you Rowley’s for a super night out! By Glenys C 3rd October 2015-Trip Advisor

“A traditional restaurant which serves the best steak in London”-I have always have a wonderful lunch or dinner at Rowleys. I recently took my 18 yr old son for lunch. He loves steak and chips (who doesn’t?) this is something special. The steak is always beautiful, the chips crispy and the service impeccable. Reviewed by Ana G .Oxford –  1st  October 2015 – Trip Advisor 

“Fabulous Lunch” -My dad took me here for lunch before our afternoon matinee to Jersey Boys. The food was lovely but my dessert was absolutely amazing. It was a chocolate bomb that melts with ice cream in the middle. What’s not to love about that?! I had ordered the Yorkshire Chicken with unlimited fries, which was a good lunch. The establishment felt very ‘business-like’ rather than inviting to families. Reviewed by Jasmine Storm 27th September 2015 – Trip Advisor

“Nice, quiet restaurant in a busy part of town”- Jermyn Street runs parallel to Piccadilly Circus but it feels like miles away from the hustle and bustle! We had a delightful meal with my husband’s business associates and the atmosphere was perfect for carrying on conversation. My lamb chops were delicious (be sure to get the mint sauce), and my husband’s co-workers raved about the salmon. The desserts looked amazing but we passed since the meal was very filling. We did not have a reservation on a Tuesday night and it was no problem for the 5 of us. Charlotte, NC – 17th September 2015 – Open Table

“Excellent food and service”­- Visited this restaurant a couple of times now and always return here whenever I and my partner come to London. The food quality is excellent, I would highly recommend the 28 day mature steak. Adam M Telford, UK – 6th September 2015 – Open Table

Excellent experience – Me and my partner have been on a few occasions now and come to this restaurant for the 28 day matured steak every time we visit London, excellent service and gorgeous food, I would recommend this restaurant to everyone Kayleigh - 5th September 2015- Open Table

Always good quality. Nice ambience and great decor. Sue Maplesden -4th September 2015-Google review

“2nd visit and definitely won’t be the last!” -I had dinner here not so long ago with a couple of business colleagues and I was that impressed with the simplicity of the relaxed dining I told my wife that we would go there together sometime soon. That sometime soon was Sunday 23rd August 2015, we went for lunch and had a really nice relaxing afternoon enjoying our awesome steak choice to share with the unlimited fries. The steaks are presented on a table burner that keeps the rest of your steak at a nice temperature whilst you’re eating what’s on your plate although it is so tender I have to admit that mine was all on my plate in no time. My wife and I also had a lovely bottle of Malbec that just went so well with the lovely juicy tender steak. (Salivating yet? Hahahahaha). We declined on dessert but only because we were both full. If you like an awesome steak and you’re happy with relaxed dining and fantastic service then this is a place you should try in my opinion.Reviewed 1 September 2015 New Trip Advisor

We go to Rowley’s for grilled entrecote or cote de boeuf, depending on our mood. Always reliable, Monica gives the best customer service ever! “Beth, Rowley’s regular – Dined on 31 August 2015 – Open table

“Beautiful venue with beautiful food. Staff were really helpful and nice. Looking forward to going again.” Sueelizabethcarney, 31st August 2015, Trip Advisor

“This was the third visit to Rowleys… A good Central London restaurant with great food. The interior is very much `Olde England` with tiled floors and lots of dark wood and polished bevelled mirrors evocative of an age gone by. Jermyn Street is very much on the tourist trail being roughly between Picadilly and The Mall. The menu is suitably varied but they have made a speciality out of Chateaubriand. Comes with unlimited chips…” MysteryDiner76, 31st August 2015, Trip Advisor

“This was our fourth visit and, as usual, we thoroughly enjoyed the steak, the endless chips and the unobtrusive but very pleasant service.” Chris M, 19th August 2015, Trip Advisor

“Looked for Chateaubriand, near Trafalgar Square and Google found Rowley’s. Good choice Google! Visited for my wife’s birthday and had excellent meal. Sunday night so not very busy but just what we wanted. Food, wine and service great and living social voucher enabled a good discount. Thanks for a great dining experience!” Murielson, 16th August 2015, Trip Advisor

“This restaurant was recommended by a friend and I decided to give it a go for my anniversary… the entrecote and the fillet are to die for! Both were tender and tasty and, thank God, plain so I could really taste the quality of the meat! I would recommend as well the sticky toffee pudding and the homemade ice cream.” Llenia DM, 13th August 2015, Trip Advisor

“Excellent food, great service, as always…” Luigi Palormi, 8th August 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Excellent service from start to finish, combined with delicious food elegantly served – in total a wonderful dining experience!” A Stem, 8th August 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Really lovely place to eat. The service was very friendly, helpful and pleasant . . . The food was well presented and cooked just right. You could choose other main meals if you didn’t want steak, but as this is their specialty l would say go for the steaks.” Pauline H, 8th August 2015, Trip Advisor

“Lovely chateaubriand with a carafe of Claret and a great chocolate dessert (chocolate bomb). Very professional service, attentive, friendly but without being intrusive. Will be back. Victorian room, nicely decorated with original tiled walls.” Uri E, 5th August 2015, Trip Advisor

“Brilliant, attentive, smiling service. Excellent food and certainly would/will recommend it to our friends. We may tug some along on our next visit.” Frances & Peter Hughes, 4th August 2015, Customer Comment Card

“I really enjoyed my steak and delicious roquefort sauce. The waitresses were very charming too. Thank you.” Jane M. Davies, 4th August 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Haven’t been here for years but it is still a great place. Location is perfect if you have clients in the West End and menu/wine list is very decent. Service was good and food was very tasty. Pricing is reasonable too.” LondonXYZ1973, 2nd August 2015, Trip Advisor

“We wanted somewhere with tradition to celebrate the graduation of one of our son’s from a London Uni, so booked Rowley’s for location to our homeward journey & the Festival Hall earlier this month . . . All we can say is that the staff were excellent and added a “little something extra” to make our memories of the day even more special. Our thanks to the staff who made a real difference to our day. GaryGBH, 29th July 2015, Trip Advisor

“Our experience was very positive. Service and food was excellent. Steak and fries were wonderful and plentiful. The house wine was so good we ordered a second glass. Will definitely return.” wgoater, 28th July 2015, Trip Advisor

“Rok’s reception at the door was so warm , friendly and genuine . . . Rok and Lydia continued to treat us throughout the evening in this manner which brought much credit to Rowleys and added to our overall enjoyment so much. It also said much for their own warm nature and approach that both made us feel so special. We  enjoyed a magnificent meal and appreciated the added bonus of the Claret and the Muscadet,  but when the Dessert appeared it was one more delightful surprise.” Barbara and Peter O’Connell, 27th July 2015, Customer Email

“We visited Rowley’s with a Travelzoo voucher for their Chateaubriand on a Saturday night – all six of us were delighted with the meal, and none of us took up the offer of unlimited fries. The staff were very friendly. We would definitely return for a meal here – it’s near Piccadilly, next time we’re up in London for the evening.” Jack L. 26th July 2015, Trip Advisor

“Historic atmosphere, fantastic service, friendly staff and most importantly the best food we have had on our European trip.” Chris and Sue Perrin, 16th July 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Small and individual with good wholesome food, individual service and reasonably quiet. Very much a couples or small family restaurant with good interaction with the staff.” msharwood, 15th July 2015, Trip Advisor

“The Blue Cheese Salad, Salmon and Sea trout were perfectly cooked and presented! The Sticky Toffee Pudding was a perfect way to end the meal. Thanks for a great lunch! Brian Roche, 14th July 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Wonderful restaurant, great service, great food, great location, great staff we will come again!” Carol & Tony Fisher, 11th July 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Wow! Service was excellent as was the attention by the chef. Brilliant night. Recommend to all that are interested in good food, wine, location and a unique experience.” Shelley P, 10th July 2015, Trip Advisor 

“Perfectly cooked meat, very pleasant surroundings, our second visit. We would recommend to anyone looking for a steak for dinner.” Karen Blanchfield, 10th July 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Lovely food. Great steak, and I’m in love with prawn cocktail again!! Excellent, attentive service.” Rob Well,  2nd July 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Excellent, as usual, thank you.” John White, 2nd July 2015 Customer Comment Card

“The atmosphere here is very nice and the service is so attentive. It just feels comfortable and unstuffy. We took the special offer Chateaubriand for two at £39 with unlimited fries and it was delicious. The Roquefort sauce served with it is really good.” 28th June 2015, Open Table Review

“We had a really lovely evening at Rowley’s with their “Chateaubriand Offer” for two. Service is great – friendly staff, always there when you need them, always anticipating your needs.” 24th June 2015, Open Table Review

“Relaxing lunch which is what I wanted. Service VERY GOOD.” Liliane Byrne, 23rd June 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Attentive and friendly service in old Wall’s sausage shop, nice and well-priced wine list makes it a terrific stop before, during or after theatre … wonder if I should say this as it is getting harder for me to get reservations now!” Alex B, 21st June 2015, Trip Advisor

“Excellent food, quickly prepared, superbly presented and wonderful friendly service!” Daniel Lawrence, 20th June 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Absolutely Fabulous. I proposed to my girlfriend tonight and the staff and chef made it extra special. When we arrived at Rowley’s and saw the effort the staff went to welcome us and to dress the table, I must admit we where overwhelmed. We were made to feel very special and welcome. Both the food and the service we received was top class and we could not have hoped for more. I wanted to extend my thanks and congratulations on what a fine restaurant you have.” Graham Braund, 20th June 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Good food as always, excellent service with a smile. 5 stars” Trevor Webber, 20th June 2015, Customer Comment Card

“The place prides itself on its meat and my steak came perfectly mid rare, my daughter had the cumbrian chicken she said it was the best she had ever tasted and my husband had the lamb cutlets again cooked to perfection. . . Banoffie pie for dessert was exquisite” Cakesta, 20th June 2015, Trip Advisor

“Milena was very accommodating and thoughtful of all of our needs and wants. She did a great service for us after our long day touring around the countryside. Thank you!” Gretchen Schmutz, 18th June 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Very nice food and excellent service from Milena” Elliot McGrath, 18th June 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Great wine selection, friendly service and a homely feel make this a great spot for catching up with friends in an old school English atmosphere.” Shanthini41, 16th June 2015, Trip Advisor

“Excellent – top quality products, simply cooked – perfect. Dressings particularly good” Vernon and Jennifer Bleek, 17th June 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Great food. Very accommodating, friendly staff. Great new potatoes!!” Paul and Lynn Mitchener, 17th June 2015, Customer Comment Card

“The meat is literally melt in the mouth deliciousness. . . in addition to this already outstanding plate of food, you get unlimited fries!!! The waiting staff are brilliant and before your last chip is in your mouth they are back, with their silver bowl overflowing with piping hot, salty fries offering to top you up . . . this place is simply delicious and this is by no means my last visit to my favourite steak joint London has to offer.” londonfoodgal.com, 14th June 2015 

“..my family and I came for dinner at your beautiful restaurant. Not only was the food delicious, your staff were wonderful about us having a tiny baby. They booked us an extra seat for the buggy, were extremely welcoming, interacted lots with the baby, didn’t mind having to lean around the buggy and were very relaxed about there being a baby (who can scream!) in the restaurant.” Hannah, 13th June 2015 Customer Review

“Beautiful … old room, outstanding service and the experience of over 35 years at the same site.” Michael L, 4th June 2015, Trip Advisor 

“Food & wine were excellent, as was the service. Would go back again.” Mike H, 2nd June 2015, Trip Advisor

“The steak was truly wonderful. The restaurant is lovely and the service excellent. A fabulous place to eat.” EssexYvonne, 29th May 2015, Trip Advisor

“Simply amazing. Everything was absolutely perfect, from the service to the food, no faults. . . will definitely be visiting again!!” Naztin, 28th May 2015, Customer Comment Card

“This is the second time I’ve been to Rowley’s, I really enjoyed time with my friends, good food, brilliant service. Just an amazing lovely place.” Andrew, 28th May 2015, Customer Comment Card

“The atmosphere is amazing. This is our second time here. Very easy to find in Piccadilly. . . . I hope we are going to come back!” Marie, 27th May 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Absolutely divine steak. Well worth a few more visits.” Emma R, 26th May 2015, Trip Advisor

“The starters were awesome and the opportunity to try such amazing flavour combinations was ahoy. A great dining experience.” Julio, 24th May 2015 Customer Comment Card

“Having read the review in the Telegraph a week or two previously we thought we would give Rowleys a try. It was well worth it, ambience, food and particularly the staff were excellent.” 23rd May 2015, OpenTable Review

“Almost a back street treasure. Staff are superb; professional, attentive and friendly. The fare that Chef turns out is first class. The beef with Roquefort butter is awesome. I’m looking forward to my next weekend to London as Rowleys will be a return for me.” 19th May 2015, Trip Advisor

“Very attentive, friendly and helpful staff add to a great atmosphere” Giada, 18th May 2015 Customer Comment Card

“Excellent, friendly service. Great food, wine and ambience. The port was enjoyed.” Marita, 16th May 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Rowley’s was recommended by a friend, and was the perfect restaurant for our first night in London. The staff were friendly and attentive as soon as we arrived. Lovely food and wine, the place was buzzing, but exactly what we wanted. Very pleased they had Jersey Royals on the menu……delicious spuds from our home island. Well definitely return when next in London.” Ange, 15th May 2015, Open Table Review

“The steak was well cooked and the chips were flowing. They have a good selection of wine and the one we chose was delicious.” F18Cook, 11th May 2015, Tripadvisor 

“An excellent evening had. Food was superb. The roquefort butter with the 28 day entrecote was sublime. The service was friendly, very professional and courteous. Chef is 100% on his game and brings a great pedigree to Rowleys.” acediner, 8th May 2015, Open Table Review

“A friend and I had a beautiful meal at Rowley’s on a Sunday evening. The restaurant is very well located, has lots of atmosphere without all the noise you often find in central London restaurants. The waitress was brilliant.” Anne-Mette, 5th May 2015, Tripadvisor

“Waiters are lovely, the meat is wonderful, delicious. It’s a great restaurant and we will come back for sure!” Marie, 18th April 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Definitely up there in my top five London steaks! Nice atmospheric restaurant and good service.” Open Table Diner, 17th April 2015

“Lovely food, lovely service, lovely décor, lovely!” Richard, 16th April 2015, Customer Comment Card

“Always a pleasure to visit this fine restaurant! Food is well prepared and presented with class. The service is excellent and the staff are always polite, courteous and helpful.” Gary Davidson, 16th April 2015, Comment Card

“We have been going here for years, as excellent as usual. See you next week.” Annabel de Morgan, 16th April 2015, Comment Card

“Fantastic as usual. I’ve been coming here since the 70s and it just gets better. Our favourite restaurant in London!” Tony Berry, 13th April 2015, Comment Card

“Wonderfully succulent chicken breast with a delicious Stilton butter served on the side so that I could take as little as I liked. Excellent service.” Caroline L, 11th April 2015, Tripadvisor

“At £25 for a perfectly decent sized steak and unlimited chips perfectly cooked, this is not bad value for the centre of London. The wine list is also reasonably priced for London, and the service is smooth and helpful.” Nicholas W, 31st March 2015, TripAdvisor

“Not a complicated meal, steak, unlimited chips (French fries) and a bottle of Berry’s red but it could not be faulted. The steak was as good as I have had in the UK, the wine great for the price and the chips almost impossible to stop eating.” Safetymark, 25th March ’15, Tripadvisor 

“We visited Rowley’s looking for something special and different, something of the old London quality and not modern pastiche eating houses, and boy we found it. classic service, great food and atmosphere..resembles langans (but smaller) in the early days.  The food was simple and delicious.  The steaks are unparalleled anywhere and the hot plates on the table kept the steaks warm to enable slower eating.. to the owner..”don’t spoil it , keep it as it is and you will pack em in” Bobby H, 20th March ’15, Tripadvisor

“Excellent prawn and crayfish cocktail, entrecôte was melt -in the mouth and full of flavour, fries and mushy peas great accompaniments and in abundance.” Paul S, 19th March ’15, Tripadvisor 

“Rowley’s is my favourite restaurant in London. The quality of the meat is outstanding and the cooking is superb. Unlimited fries!! Their service with a smile is also quite a rare find these days!!!” dollym_13, 17th March ’15, Tripadvisor

“The restaurant lived up to its reputation of cooking the best steak in London. It was my first visit but expect to return.” jc40, 17th March ’15, Opentable

“If you don’t have steak here, you are missing the point. Rowley’s is famous for its entrecote served on a flamed pan dripping with delicious maitre d’ butter and accompanied by unlimited light and crispy fries. Our steak, cooked medium rare, was pretty nigh perfect. Smoked salmon to start with was high quality too, and we thoroughly enjoyed the sticky toffee pudding to finish. Berry Bros claret to accompany was just great. Espresso coffee was outstanding.” Tim W, 13th March ’15, Tripadvisor

“Had a delicious meal before going to the theatre. Love the concept of having your food served on a hot plate and unlimited fries. Would certainly return on our next trip to London!” Joanne, 13th March ’15, Opentable

“This was the first time I had tried chateaubriand and was not left disappointed. There was also ‘unlimited’ fries and they were light and tasty.  The restaurant was really busy but the staff were very attentive and had good banter with us.  Will definitely eat here again.” uam83, 10th March ’15, Tripadvisor

“My entrecote was a smooth as cashmere. Seared with a tan-coloured tinge on the outside, tender and yielding within, it’s the kind of steak that justifies meat-eating.” Flux Magazine, 3rd March 2015

“I think Rowley’s is the perfect restaurant…It looks like a fairytale Edwardian shop…I order lamb cutlets, delicate, delicious…” The Spectator, 21st February 2015 

“Second visit to Rowley’s in a few weeks – with me suggesting and hosting this time. The rib-eye was again excellent, perfectly cooked green beans and my colleague loved the regular flow of (excellent) fries. Efficient, uncomplicated menu and service, good ambience and easy place for conversation to flow. Whenever I am in this part of town and needing a good quality, good value lunch, Rowley’s will be my option.” MikyO, 26th February ’15, Opentable

“We ordered our steak “medium well” (as I’m not too keen on lots of blood) and my partner said it would be dry – however, it wasn’t. It was absolutely perfect, in fact it was the best steak I’ve ever eaten! He enjoyed it too.” Annette G, 25th February ’15, Tripadvisor 

“We got a very warm and friendly welcome, the food was excellent, the portions were large and  the food was hot. we had the chateaubriand which was excellent and I loved the Rowleys special sauce. Already planning our next visit with the family.” Andrew H, 16th February ’15, TripAdvisor 

“Very good evening — lovely food and excellent service.” John Smith, 2nd February ’15, Comment Card

“Excellent service and food.  Will come back and try another steak!” Julian King, 15th February ’15, Comment Card

“Steak frites as it ought to be – unlimited fries which keep getting topped up; wonderful steak. First rate wine list at sensible prices. Service was exemplary; made to feel very welcome.” Stan, 13th February ’15, Opentable

“We have dined there on three separate occasions since the beginning of December and our experience has been consistently positive. This occasion was no exception; the welcome is warm, the food and wine superb, and the ambience facilitates laughter and conversation. We will definitely be dining at Rowley’s again whenever the opportunity arises.” Ruth, 12th February ’15, Opentable

“If you are looking for a straightforward steak and frites meal, this is the place. The chateaubriand was really tender, the ambience busy but sophisticated and the service faultless – the 2 waiters we’re welcoming, charming and attentive.” stephenf8, 9th February ’15, Tripadvisor

“We went for lunch with no reservation. The staff were attentive, topping up our drinks etc. The steak was melt in the mouth and very tasty. Desserts were delicious. All in all a pleasant experience.” Jmwj, 7th February ’15, Tripadvisor

“One of the best steaks I have ever had, cooked perfectly with wonderful sides and unlimited fries. We will certainly visit again the next time we are in London.” La_Bamber, 4th February ’15, Tripadvisor

“Had lunch with business colleagues. Excellent quality steaks and excellent chips.  Small restaurant with good atmosphere.  Nice wine selection.” St_Edmundsbury_Gold, 2nd February ’15, Tripadvisor

“Good English restaurant. Fish and chips comes with unlimited chips. The sticky toffee pudding is a must and definitely makes the meal!” Elle B, 1st February ’15, Yelp

“It was our first time at this restaurant. The most popular dish is the chateaubriand for two with unlimited French fries (not chunky chips which we prefer but no big deal). Loved the way they serve the steaks on hot burner to keep the steak hot and hot dinner plates. Nothing worst than steaks on cold plates.” David, 31st January ’15, Opentable

“Excellently situated, 200 yards from Piccadilly Circus, with very good food in a fine not-too-large dining room. Not only very good meat, very well presented, on a heated dish, with of course fine, well cooked chips but also, this week, excellent very fresh battered cod with the same (un-English) chips. Good selection of wines.” Jacques E, 28th January ’15, Tripadvisor 

“Impressive room with great location in central London, moments from Piccadilly Circus/Leicester Square. Limited menu, specialising in meat, especially steaks to share (chateaubriand or cote de boeuf), with unlimited fries, and they do it very well. Quite pricey, but good at what they do and excellent service. A more traditionally “English” feel than the south American steakhouses that have proliferated in London over recent years.” TopTraveller101, 28th January ’15, Tripadvisor

“As above, and a good wine list. All at reasonable prices for central London. We go there a lot. Friendly staff. Took four 4 month grandson(and his parents!) and they were most welcoming. Not always the case in London.” UKJmb, 27th January ’15, Tripadvisor 

“We’ve eaten here 3-4 times now and the chateaubriand has always been sublime! The staff are very welcoming, there’s a lovely ambiance and the restaurant is ideally placed for theatreland and Regent Street. My only niggle is that I would rather have unlimited salad with my steak – the fries are so delicious, it is hard to refuse a second helping! Treat yourself, you won’t be disappointed!” Manyhats2014, 23rd January ’15, Tripadvisor

“Rowley’s never fails to delight with it’s super environment, warm atmosphere and sense of quality. The food is excellent and the staff are friendly, efficient and professional. A place to cherish and enjoy. I’ve been half a dozen times or more these past ten years and I’ve never been less than totally impressed.” tim d, 21st January ’15, Tripadvisor

“You can rely on Rowley’s to be warm and welcoming, with traditional values and great hospitality.  To share a beautifully cooked steak served in a heater dish – and unlimited perfect thin chips – with a good glass of heavy red wine, is something to treasure these days of increasingly complicated F&B.” Poppa, 20th January ’15, Opentable 

“First class food and service and our steaks were cooked to perfection!” terryothery, 2nd January ’15, Tripadvisor

“Great restaurant excellent service and fantastic food, would highly recommend” OpenTable Diner Since 2014, 16th January ’15, OpenTable

“The staff are first class, attentive without being obstrusive. The food is fantastic.” AdeS100, 30th December ’14, OpenTable

“As always super food, super service and a great ambiance.  We love it!” Reg Hannam, 13 December ’14, Comment Card

“The food was very good as were the staff and the decor was really amazing in such a quiet street behind one of the really busy roads in Picadilly.” rahunt, 7th January ’15, Tripadvisor

“From the moment I arrived at this conveniently placed Jermyn Street restaurant, I felt relaxed and well attended. My guest was also warmly welcomed and we both had the Chateaubriand steak. This came with shoestring potato chips and a large delicious salad. We were delighted to be offered new, fresh, hot chips before we had finished our steaks. We had not asked for them but they were very welcome and on the house! Everything was delicious and plentisome, the service was excellent and friendly. I’ll be going back.” Lucy123, 7th January ’15, OpenTable

“Rowley’s is a Jermyn Street institution with good reason. One of the finest tiled and mirrored dining rooms in London, Rowley’s stays true to it’s roots and perfects what it does. A steak and grill restaurant that doesn’t overstretch itself, we had a fillet steak and lamb cutlets which were cooked perfectly with the butter sauce complementing it well rather than overpowering the flavours of the meat. A good priced wine list and excellent service – available if you need assistance but in no way overbearing. Try and request a table in the front half of the restaurant to appreciate the decor.” Dan Reynolds, 7th January ’15, TripAdvisor

“Rowley’s is a hidden gem in Jermyn Street. The extensively interior is actually very intimate and welcoming. Our food, while simple, was nicely presented and of very good quality. We each had a steak which came sliced and with a Roquefort butter in a pan which was then kept warm at the table…a nice touch. This was combined with unlimited (!!!) string fries. I tried to test this, but after thirds had to admit defeat. Very friendly service as well. Really good.” Paul S, 1st January ’15, TripAdvisor

“We keep going back to Rowley’s with our kids who love the sauce and the endless fries. Friendly service makes it a reliable and tasty choice for lunch or dinner.” William, 31st December ’14, OpenTable

“Rowley’s is my favourite restaurant in London and always my first stop for dinner. Love the service and the steak. A nice wine list as well. The St James location is very convenient to museums, theaters, and shopping.” ihabelghazzawi, 24th December ’14, TripAdvisor

“Great food. Good service. Lovely place.” June Javed, 14th December ’14, Facebook

“Very happy regulars, wouldn’t think of going anywhere else for our steak and chips – can’t be beaten!” Sam Rimmer, 3rd December ’14, Comment Card

“My first dinner at Rowley’s, amazing food, amazing staff, quick and nice presentation of the food. Nice atmosphere. I’ll come back for the best Christmas pudding.” Linda Wood, 2nd December ’14, Comment Card

“Good service, good price / value, good food, pleasant – beautiful environment, excellent accessibility.” Michael, 24th November ’14, OpenTable

“Consistently good food and service…well worth a visit.” John G, 23rd November ’14, OpenTable

“Nice surroundings, friendly prompt staff , good food and unlimited fries! The price was about right – all in all a pleasant dinner.” Tim P, 22nd November ’14, Tripadvisor

“The service was very good and the chateaubriand and unlimited fries was great. I had sticky toffee pudding which was delicious. I was impressed! I would visit again.” Affy S, 26th November ’14, Tripadvisor

“Absolutely gorgeous Chateaubriand here! Highly recommend this place to everyone.” Ashleigh Terry, November ’14, Facebook

“We had a very nice meal, the green beans were sublime! The service was excellent and the staff were very helpful…”Jingomimi, 23rd November ’14, (TripAdvisor)

“Excellent, very good service. Always return to this restaurant.” Joy Smith, 8th November ’14 (Customer Card)

“As good as I remember it. The service is excellent and the food fantastic.” Richard Newman, 7 November ’14 (Comment Card) 

“A WONDERFUL evening, the food was excellent, the staff charming without being intrusive. Thank you.” Taylor, 7th November ’14 (Comment Card)

“Excellent food, excellent service. Everything was cooked to perfection, the cheese board was fantastic! We will definitely come back and will recommend to our friends.” Gareth D’Arry and Tania Hebel, 6th November ’14 (Comment Card)

“Great service, waiter very attentive. Food was delicious. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Ticked all the boxes for a great lunch!” Kay Souter, 25th October ’14 (Comment Card)

“A delicious steak followed by treacle sponge and custard – heaven! Delicious + good service. Very enjoyable – thank you.” Alison Griffiths, 25th October ’14 (Comment Card)

“Excellent service with a traditional English atmosphere. I had the 28-day matured Fillet — it was superb — plus all the French fries you can eat. For dessert, the sticky toffee pudding is to die for.” Chuck J, 3 November (Tripadvisor Review)

“We enjoyed the service and atmosphere immensely. They had a nice Reasonably priced Chardonay for the white wine drinkers and a great little Claret for a Red…My wife and I had the Chateaubriand and it was simply delicious…Would we go back – oh yes- no question about that. We travel to London at least twice a year and have eaten in many fine restaurants but Rowley’s is at the top of our list.” 29th October 2014 (Tripadvisor Review)

“Best place in town without blowing your budget! Great memories of being here…” Robert Whelan, 25th October (Facebook Review)

“Richard Wall, of famous Wall’s sausages would be very proud to be associated with this excellent restaurant based in his original shop” Chris Browne, 15th October, from the UK (Comment Card)

“First class quality steak. Great surroundings, excellent service.” Joanna Newland, 12th October, from the UK (Comment Card)

“Regular visitors. Always consistent. Excellent food with friendly yet efficient and courteous staff will return.” Colin Dealy, 12th October. (Comment Card)

“A first visit to Rowley’s and we weren’t disappointed… All the food was perfectly prepared and delivered with excellent service. We will be sure to return” ASGNorthampton, 19th October (Tripadvisor)

“Always a wonderful experience. Good food and ambience.” Carole Champion, 6th October, from the UK (Comment Card)

“A great deal – great food, good service and a lovely atmosphere. Thank you.” Sophie & Phil, 4th October, from the UK (Comment Card)

“Great Service, food great, like everything about this restaurant, I will recommend, personally. You cannot meet nicer people. 5*” Daniel Arty, 2nd October, from Florida (Comment Card)

“Limitless fries,
what a fantastic surprise,
heaped on my plate, for that I will rate,
Rowley’s a clear 10 out of 10!” Gemma Hambrook, 27th September, from the UK (Comment Card)

“We came for a meal this evening as we received a gift for our silver wedding annivarsary… Lovely evening & the staff were very attentive… Would thoroughly recommend it.” Angela Conway, 26th September, from the U.K. (Comment Card)

“We enjoyed one of the best Chateaubriand steaks we had ever had, great fries, as many as you need and perfectly cooked vegetables all piping hot and very well presented… A really good experience it’s quite a special place well run and with a good atmosphere.” Annette C., 28th September, From London (Tripadvisor)

“We truly enjoyed our late night dining experience at Rowley’s including both the great food and the friendly staff! We can highly recommend the Steak Entrecote with unlimited awesome fries, and finishing up with the Sticky Toffee Pudding! I would definitely return!” The_Travelling_tom, 28th September, From the U.S. (Tripadvisor)

“Probably the best steak I have had in a restaurant. Fine French fries and a good salad. I would recommend the béarnaise sauce. And although the place is a fine old restaurant with great traditions, there is a relaxed atmosphere. Here people eat well and have a good time.” njbendix, 25th September, From Denmark (Tripadvisor)

“Fabulous meal every time I go here!! I love the fillet steak, cooked to perfection. Service is exceptional too. Recommend this place to everyone.” Haydn Ringer, 1st October (Facebook Review)

“Upmarket Steakhouse…service was attentive and quick without being obtrusive… steak was perfectly cooked… This is an ideal place to eat with friends and one that I consider quite a find. You will not be disappointed if you try it out.” David Shacklady, 25thth September (Tripadvisor)

“Great atmosphere & location & wonderful well-cooked meat. Friendly, caring service. We will be back.” Sarah Pugh, 19th September (Customer Comment Card)

“Vey good value – excellent steaks, nice touch with the unlimited fries. Great atmosphere.” Sullivan, 19th September (Customer Comment Card)

“Delicious entrecote, delicious Bearnaise sauce, fabulous waiters. Thank you.” Maciejewski, 19th September (Customer Comment Card)

“Some of the best steaks in town; good, comfortable surroundings.” MJDO, 6th September (Opentable)

“I have been dining at Rowley’s for 30 years. The food is consistently good value for money and the service is excellent” Ehlecim, 6th September (Opentable)

“Great staff!! So friendly. Food so good, we’ve been back every time in London since the 80′s!” L.M. Conan, 5th September, from the U.S. (Comment Card)

“It was just right for all of us – 7 ladies and 2 lucky men… We will definitely go back!” wwmb, 11th September 2014, from Houston (Tripadvisor)

“A perfect location for West End theatres or high-end shopping make it a must for us on any day in town. Oh, and who can resist free, never ending fries on the side…” Planetsmith, 7th September 2014, from Florida (Tripadvisor)

“Service and food is great as usual. Although we have not been able to come for many years. You’re a long way from Texas, but we’ll be back!” Susie & Bert Rucker, 5th September 2014, from Texas (Customer Card)

“The perfect steak and chips! Wonderful service, thank you!” Victoria Peoit, 24th August 2014 (Customer Card)

“Delicious as always. Lovely service, lovely rendition of happy birthday!” Mr & Mrs L Bock, 23rd August 2014 (Customer Card)

“Excellent meal – the fillet steak was delicious. Service very good and pleasant surroundings. Will be back.” Graham Hill, 22nd August 2014 (Customer Card)

“The quality of food never varies – it’s dependable and great: the staff are charming and responsive, and the decor is extraordinarily beautiful. Don’t change a thing!!!” Prosser, 28th August, From the UK (Customer Card)

“Rowley’s is one of my favourite restaurants in London. The food is just perfect (I highly recommend the selection of steaks with fries). Very good lamb and the chicken supreme is wonderful too. Amazing place, I’ll definitely be back!” Luis Costa Da Silva, 13th August, From the UK (Customer Card)

“Great dinner – the steak and fries were terrific. But the best (by far) were the staff – who made sure we had a fantastic evening on my 60th birthday!” Tim Parkes, 13th August, From the UK (Customer Card)

“We came to Rowley’s because we had heard about the never-ending fries, but found that the best feature of the restaurant is the great service! Although yes, the fries were great too…” Williams Family, 13th August, From the UK (Customer Card)

“Sebastian was a fantastic waiter, only surpassed by the most tender steak and crispy fries. What a wonderful experience. Will be back. Thank you Rowley’s.” Julie Turner, 19th August, From the UK (Customer Card)

“Best steak and fries in London, friendly surroundings and superb service. Chips to die for and so many of them!” Ray Papworth, 18th August, from the UK (Customer Card)

“Fantastic food and amazing and attentive staff. Thank you for such a fabulous experience. We will definitely recommend and come again.” Marina Cullen, 16th August, from the UK (Customer Card)

“We have visited this restaurant some time ago and still keep reminding ourselves of the steak that we have ordered. It comes on a tray above a fire so it keeps it warm and nicely rested. The steak is coated in their own buttery sauce which is very delicious. To top that you can have as much fries as you want!
Good selection of red wines and prompt service puts this restaurant in our personal top list.
Restaurant being on a by street makes it less noisy yet in the very center of London.
Definitely recommended and will visit soon!” Krzysztof L. 15th August 2014 (Tripadvisor)

“I have the pleasure, for that is what it truly is, of regularly eating in Rowley’s around once a week and would say, with the full confidence of a regular, London ‘dine-outer’ that this really is the very finest steak eatery in the whole of London!
Not only is the food quality entirely outstanding, but the friendliness and professionalism of the staff is remarkable and the value for money impressive too, especially in this relatively exclusive sub-district of the oh-so-swish part of Central London: also, the famous herb butter sauce is utterly sensational!” Steve F. from UK, 1st August 2014 (Tripadvisor)

“Rowley’s, tucked round the back of Piccadilly, provided the perfect setting for myself and guest to gorge ourselves on comfort food (including sticky toffee pudding) after an August down pour(…)We ordered the house special of Entrecôte which, is served in a sharing dish (where you have ample opportunity to sneak more than your fair share) and is served with unlimited fries that could very well be the tastiest I’’ve had in months. It seems I am not alone in my quest for a carb loaded side. You can have your chip and eat it too.” Martha Cliff, Mail Online, 13th August 2014

“I am a coeliac and they were very helpful with menu choices and knowledgable. Excellent food and service, pleasant ambiance and most enjoyable. Really enjoyed it!” Helen Robinson, 16th July 2014, from Nottingham UK (Customer Comment Card)

“Beautiful food with really friendly, accommodating staff! Will most certainly be back. I love frites!”Daniel Burt 26th July 2014, from UK (Customer Comment Card)

“Chateaubriand With Rowley’s Roquefort Butter and sauce Bernaise: Exquisite to say the least: best Beef I’ve ever had in London. And the Bernaise fluffy and divine. Will Dine Again…..” Cap Dan, 8th August 2014 (Facebook Review)

“Our favourite restaurant in London! You do everything so well – fantastic staff, wonderful food; summer or winter, Rowley’s is perfect!” Richard Knight, 31st July 2014, from UK (Customer Comment Card)

“Amazing Cote de Boeuf, amazing paté and amazing service! We had such a lovely evening and the waiters were very attentive. We never ran out of the delicious fries and the wine was wonderful! We will be back!” Katie Baugh & Gareth Perkin, from UK & New Zealand, 26th July 2014 (Customer Comment Card)

“Our first visit but it won’t be our last! Your food is very good, but your staff are too, especially Sebastian – but the ladies were good too! Made for a memorable lunch.” Mr & Mrs Ian Crowe, from UK, 24th July 2014 (Customer Comment Card)

“Fantastic service with good humour! Food was devine. We had the Cote de Boeuf and it was cooked to perfection.” Graham Lyons, from UK/France, 19th July 2014 (Customer Comment Card)

“You have been our ‘go to’ for many years now, great ambiance and totally reliable, always a good meal.” Julian Plant 30th July 2014 (Facebook)

“The food was amazing and so was the service, Sebastian was very charming and attentive. We will definitely be visiting this amazing restaurant again.” Susan Rawley, from UK, 11th July 2014 (Customer Comment Card)

“Finding a place in St James on a Sunday evening limits one’s choice, but this is a good one – if you like beef! The charming French waiters were willing and able and gave us a warm welcome and were there for witty exchanges…The cote de beuf was certainly large enough for a good meal for two and the chips kept coming – good one’s too.” Contributor July 2014 (TripAdvisor)

“Been a few times over the years for lunch and dinner and really enjoy this restaurant, the location is a very civilised part of London, central but tucked away from the bustle. The service is excellent and nothing too much trouble.” DonnaB July 2014 (Tripadvisor)

“The ambiance is elegantly modern and it is quiet enough to hear each other for a dinner conversation… The lobster soup was rich and yummy…My steak was wonderful.” Julie S, 8th July (TripAdvisor)

“…the service was first class and the food was superb. We go for meals expecting to be treated special, and that they sure did.” Mark 28th June (Tripadvisor)

“Equally beauteous. *whipped Roquefort butter*” Marina O’Loughlin, Guardian Weekend Magazine, 25th June 2014 (Twitter)

“The arrival of our main courses was well timed and the use of a heated pan on the table ensured the meat was pipping hot when served. The steaks, two rumps and one ribeye were all perfectly cooked and delicious. The meat really did melt in the mouth. The unlimited fries offer was also fully exploited. These were also served hot, had a crispy coating and were dry from grease…The overall value was not unreasonable for London.” Charles, 16th June 2014 (Square Meal Reviews)

“Rowley’s format is clever and easy. Food was absolutely excellent. Chicken supreme was moist and beautifully cooked. Fries were pretty excellent and no limit to the fries. Thoroughly enjoyed every minute.” Cheryl, 7th June 2014 (Tripadvisor)

“The steaks were excellent, the staff charming and fascinating, and our bottle of Malbec most enjoyable.” Sarum 31st May (Tripadvisor) 

“It does what it does well and in it’s own style. The staff were polite and attentive without being intrusive, the atmosphere in the restaurant was relaxed and I would definitely return. A very enjoyable meal all round.” Lucy, 21st May 2014 (Tripadvisor)

“The service was outstanding from the time we sat down to desert. They just kept bringing the food. We ordered a great bottle of wine from a very impressive wine list. The steak was cooked as ordered and more than enough for two.” Contributor 15th May 2014 (Tripadvisor)

“@London_Food_Gal The best food I have ever eaten! Chateaubriand for Two with Unlimited Fries” 6th May 2014 (Twitter)

“Possibly the best steak in London” 5/5 Contributor 26th April 2014 (Tripadvisor)

“I love Rowleys! We eat there once or twice a month. The steak is absolutely delicious served with the most amazing herb butter and as many French fries as you wish. I get withdrawal symtoms if I don’t go there for a few weeks!” Johanne, 22nd April 2014 (Tripadvidor)

“Boy was this steak good. Medium rare is a must. Unlimited French fries is cool. The Prosecco is super nice but a cool £28 a bottle!! All said and done we booked another table for next month!” Ron, 12th April 2014 (Facebook)

“…excellent service, good food, fun atmosphere, if you’re looking for a great place to eat then Rowley’s is the place to go – we shall be back.” Richard, 8th April 2014 (Facebook)

“Last week was my first visit to Rowley’s but it certainly won’t be my last! From someone who eats steak a lot in London, I must say this is by far the most succulent entrecôte i’ve had in years!” Parnell, March 2014 (Tripadvisor)

“Great food, great service, great prices and a great location! When I lived in London, I ate there at least once a week.” Bill, January 2014 (Facebook)

“Rowley’s is a real British treasure, steeped in local history, with a pleasant buzz about the place at lunchtime, a popular choice, it seems, for local office workers.” Florence, December 2013 (Bon Vivant Luxury concierge Service)

“Been going here for years. My dad always takes me here when we come to London. My favorite restaurant of all time!” Samantha, December 2013 (Facebook)

“Perfectly cooked steak, unlimited chips and a bottle of good claret – absolutely delicious!” Barney, 20/01/14 (Tripadviser)

“Rowley’s is just the ticket for heritage-hungry tourists and St James’s suited-and-booted legions… a slice of good old tradition.” Square Meal

“The steak is what Rowley’s is known for… it’s delicious and beautifully served.” View London

Did you know we have a Rowley’s App? Download it to receive exclusive offers, invitations and a fantastic 10% off your bill!

As ever excellent food, service and value! recommended to friends.

Reviewed by SUSANJ on 19 April 2017 – OpenTable